Community Advisory Council (CAC) – Coos County

Community Advisory Councils work in partnership with Coordinated Care Organizations to ensure that Oregon’s health system transformation is a success. Community Advisory Councils, CACs, constitute a critical component in the CCOs ability to achieve the goals for which they were created: improving member health at a lower cost.

The CAC’s role is to make sure that the health care needs of the people in our community are being addressed. Most of the people on the council live in Coos County and are covered by the Oregon Health Plan with Advanced Health. The other council members are representatives of community agencies.  The CAC advises Advanced Health on community health needs and how to achieve better health, better care, while lowering costs.

Coos County Community Advisory Council (CAC)

Meets on the 1st Thursday of each month

Time: 12:00 pm – 1:30 pm

Advanced Health

Location: 289 LaClair St, Coos Bay, Oregon 97420

If you are interested in attending a CAC meeting please contact Kelli at 541-269-4553

During COVID-19 Pandemic and to follow social distancing guidelines, the Coos CAC continues to meet virtually at the above date and time, please contact Kelli for the meeting log-in information

Meeting Minutes


    Community Members:

    Avery Horton, Chairperson

    Anna-Marie Slate, Vice-Chairperson

    Kathlene Abbott

    Candera Jacobs

    Linda Morris

    Chris Nevin

    Lorelei Webb

    Daniel Wells

    Doreen Alexander

    Laura Fitouri, The Devereux Center

    Dale Hodges

    Avery Horton, Advanced Health Board Chair and CAC Rep

    Penny Peters

    Kenneth VanderVoorden

    Agency Representatives:

    Melissa Cribbins, Coos County Commissioner, Advanced Health Board

    Michael Marchant, Department of Health and Human Services

    Tonya Lamar, Advantage Dental

    David Geels, Coos Health & Wellness

    Katrinka McReynolds, Coos Health & Wellness

    Lisa DeSalvio, Coos Bay School District

    Corey Wampler, South Coast Head Start, Oregon Coast Community Action

    Sara Stephens, South Coast Regional Early Learning Hub (SCREL)

    Trudy Simpson, Coquille Indian Tribe

    Vicki Faciane, Confederated Tribes of Coos, Lower Umpqua & Siuslaw Indians

    Christy Shipman, Aging & People with Disabilities

    Unfilled, Cow Creek Band of Umpqua Tribe of Indians